Just for fun (5)

 

A paddler breaks out to negotiate upstream gate 2. As his/her head is between the poles, a sudden eddy pushes the boat backward.

The paddler recovers and completes the negotiation.

What (if any) is the penalty on gate 2? Why?

Gate 2: 0 There is no penalty for a movement in the wrong direction, provided that the paddler is going in the right direction at the start and finish of negotiation. A wash back, a bounce off a rock or the wind moving the poles back and forward during passage do not count as fifties.